About Us Pic
  • Who we Are
  • Our Vision
  • Our Mission
  • Key Stakeholders
  • The Governing Council
  • The Management Team
  • The Committees
  • Our Zonal Offices

Who we Are

The Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria (APCON) was established by the Advertising Practitioners Registration Act No. 55 of 1988, as amended by Act No. 93 of 1992 and Act No. 116 of 1993 (now Advertising Practitioners Registration Act Cap A7 of 2004).

The adoption of a broad national mass communication policy by the National Council of Ministers in January 1988 was a milestone in the establishment of the Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria (APCON). The various discussions that followed the adoption of the national mass communication policy articulated the relevance and the leadership role of advertising to the nation's social, political and economic development as well as the need for official recognition and regulation of the practice.

The Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria (APCON) was subsequently established by the Act number 55 of 1988 as a logical outcome of these discussions. The Act accorded deserved state legislative recognition of advertising as a profession in Nigeria and vested APCON with powers to regulate and control the practice of advertising in Nigeria, in all its aspects and ramifications.

APCON maintains a strong focus on its vision of promoting responsible and ethical advertising practice, acts as the conscience of society in matters of commercial communications and as a watchdog for consumers. It also manages the needs and interests of stakeholders in Nigeria's advertising industry.

APCON cooperates with these Sectorial associations in regulating the conduct of their member organizations to ensure a socially responsible practice. By insisting on pre-exposure clearance of all advertisements, APCON strives to check all forms of abuses such as misleading statements, spurious testimonials, visual and verbal exaggerations, misleading offers, suggestion or pictures offensive to public decency, etc.

The Registrar/Chief Executive Officer is Alhaji Garba Bello Kankarofi , Frpa.

Our vision

To promote responsible and ethical advertising practice, acting as the conscience of the society and watchdog for the consumers, while managing the needs and interests of the stakeholders in Nigeria's advertising industry.

Our vision

Our Mission

Key Stakeholders

The key stakeholders are Advertisers, Companies, and Individuals who are organized under:

• Advertisers Association of Nigeria (ADVAN)
• Association of Advertising Agencies in Nigeria (AAAN)
• Broadcasting Organizations of Nigeria (BON)
• Media Independent Practitioners Association of Nigeria (MIPAN)
• Newspaper Proprietors Association of Nigeria (NPAN)
• Outdoor Advertising Association of Nigeria (OAAN)
• Federal Ministry of Information and Culture
• Federal Ministry of Health
• Universities/Polytechnics offering advertising related courses

The Governing Council

APCON operates through a governing council, composed of the Chairman, who is appointed by the President of Nigeria from among the Fellows of the profession as well as nineteen other members who represent the key stakeholders in the advertising industry and other interests. The Governing Council sets out broad policies and guidelines for the operation of APCON and generally supervises the implementation of its mandates.


The 6th Governing Council

The Management Team

APCON's day to day operations are performed by a bureaucracy of public servants appointed by the Council. The head of bureaucracy and chief executive officer is the Registrar.

The operations of APCON are organized into four directorates, namely:

  • - Registration, Careers Development Matters and Corporate Licensing
  • - Regulation, Monitoring and Enforcement
  • - Planning, Research and Strategy
  • - Human Resource Management

  • Alhaji Garba Bello Kankarofi, frpa – Registrar / Chief Executive.
    Mrs Abimbola Ipaye - Director, Finance
    Mr Joe-Engene Onuorah, rpa – Head of Operations.
    Ralph Anyacho, rpa - Head, Planning, Research and Strategy.
    Mrs Ijedi Iyoha, rpa – Head, Regulation, Monitoring and Enforcement.
    Ms Martha Onyebuchi, rpa - Head of Registration, Career Matters and Corporate Licensing.
    Mrs Uforo Inyang-Opara – Head, Legal.
    Mallam Kafaru Bello - Head of Accounts.
    Mr Emmanuel Ojo, arpa – Head, Admin.
    Mr Ademola Fadeyibi – Internal Audit.

    The Committees

    1. Statutory Committees

    • Advertising Standards Panel, (ASP) is responsible for setting advertising standards in accordance with provisions of the Code of Advertising Practice. It is mandatory that all advertisements are submitted for pre-exposure vetting and approval of this panel before their exposure in the media. The Panel is composed of 22 members drawn from diverse interests in advertising industry.

    • Advertising Practitioners Investigating Panel (APIP) This panel investigates complaints of professional misconduct brought against practitioners and determines culpability or otherwise, which forms the basis for disciplinary procedures. The members are 5, drawn from the council.

    • Advertising Practitioners Disciplinary Committee (APDC) adjudicates on cases of professional misconducts. Seven members of the council constitute this committee.

    2. Non-Statutory Committees

    • Membership Committee (MC) is composed of a chairman, and 7 senior practitioners with responsibility for screening applications for registration as advertising practitioners. The Committee also oversees matters relating to membership of the profession and status upgrading, including maintenance of the register of Advertising Practitioners. A sub-committee of this committee considers and makes recommendations on the selection of Fellows of the profession.

    • Finance Committee (FC) is composed of 6 members and has responsibility for considering and approving the Council's annual budget and subsequent appropriation. It considers staff welfare matters, including promotions.

    • Academic Board (AD) is composed of 6 practitioners and is responsible for moderating the Council's professional examinations and the award of certificates to successful candidates.

    Our Zonal Offices

    APCON operates zonal offices across the country. These offices render the services of the council.
    These services include processing applications for registration as an advertising practitioner, registration of candidates for the advertising professional examinations, monitoring of advertisements exposed in the media, vetting of advertisements, professional training programmes for practitioners, etc.

    Our Zonal Offices are currently in;

    • Abuja • Enugu • Ibadan • Ilorin • Jos • Kaduna • Kano • Katsina • Lagos • Minna • Onitsha • Owerri • Port Harcourt

    These are for the ease of doing business. Kindly find the Zonal Office addresses near you on our Contact Us page.

    back to top